Every twenty years the Constitution Revision Commission meets to propose amendments to the Florida Constitution. The Commissioners are appointed by the Governor, Senate President, Speaker of the House, and Chief Justice of the Florida Supreme Court. The Commission is currently meeting to consider over a hundred proposed amendments, including P 91, by Commissioner Jacqui Thurlow-Lippisch. P 91 would prohibit drilling for oil or gas in Florida’s nearshore waters. The proposal has passed through all its committee stops and was approved 32-1 by the full CRC. It has just one more vote before final approval, after which it will head to the ballot in November where it will need 60% voter approval to be implemented.

Please take a moment to email the CRC members and ask for their support. To make it easy, here’s a template you can use- please try to add some personal information! You can also copy the emails below into a single message and send one email.

Sample Letter:

Dear Members of the CRC:

As a Floridian, I care deeply about the health of our coasts and ocean. I am writing to support P91- to ban oil and gas exploration in our territorial waters. Drilling is dirty, dangerous, and requires major onshore infrastructure which is incompatible with our tourism economy and our quality of life.

[INSERT PERSONAL COMMENTS]

We want the opportunity to vote on Proposal 91 to protect our coastal communities, our jobs, and our quality of life from nearshore oil and gas drilling. We hope you will support this proposal, and allow Floridians to speak for the protection of their coasts.

Sincerely,

NAME

CRC Member Emails:

Jose.Armas@flcrc.gov
Carlos.Beruff@flcrc.gov
Pam.Bondi@flcrc.gov
Lisa.Carlton@flcrc.gov
Timothy.Cerio@flcrc.gov
Hank.Coxe@flcrc.gov
Jose.Diaz@flcrc.gov
Erika.Donalds@flcrc.gov
Don.Gaetz@flcrc.gov
Emery.Gainey@flcrc.gov
Anna.Gamez@flcrc.gov
Tom.Grady@flcrc.gov
Brecht.Heuchan@flcrc.gov
Marva.Johnson@flcrc.gov
Darlene.Jordan@flcrc.gov
Arthenia.Joyner@flcrc.gov
Fred.Karlinsky@flcrc.gov
Belinda.Keiser@flcrc.gov
Frank.Kruppenbacher@flcrc.gov
Tom.Lee@flcrc.gov
Gary.Lester@flcrc.gov
Patricia.Levesque@flcrc.gov
Roberto.Martinez@flcrc.gov
Rich.Newsome@flcrc.gov
Chris.Nocco@flcrc.gov
Jeanette.Nunez@flcrc.gov
Sherry.Plymale@flcrc.gov
Darryl.Rouson@flcrc.gov
William.Schifino@flcrc.gov
Chris.Smith@flcrc.gov
Bob.Solari@flcrc.gov
Chris.Sprowls@flcrc.gov
John.Stemberger@flcrc.gov
Pam.Stewart@flcrc.gov
Jacqui.Lippisch@flcrc.gov
Carolyn.Timmann@flcrc.gov
Nicole.Washington@flcrc.gov