Once a year we take a moment to recognize the people and partners that have contributed in extraordinary ways towards our mission of the protection and enjoyment of oceans, waves and beaches.

ALL of us at Surfrider Foundation offer a heartfelt thank you to everyone who engaged with our mission and made a difference in 2011, but the following people get an extra thanks.

We are especially pleased to announce that one of the recipients is from Florida!

Chapter Leadership Award
Mike Sturdivant – Emerald Coast Chapter
Awarded to an individual or group of individuals selected for service to a
chapter (US or International) that showed leadership and inspiration.

Coastal Impact Award
Peter Douglas

Surf Industry Partner Award
Malibu Surfing Association

Environmental Activism Award
Portland Bag Ban Crew
Chapter leaders:
Tara Gallagher
Staj Pace
Matt Spencer
Stiv Wilson
Mason Brock
Ryan Cruse
Lisa Lynch
Drew Kerr
Tristan Fields
Jocelyn Gary
Gregg Hayward
Jacque Rodriguez

Corporate Partner Award

Distinguished Service
Dr. Carl Berg – Kauai Chapter

Outstanding Contribution
Marisla Foundation

Development Award
Jeff Berg

The Wavemaker Awards will be held on Saturday, February 4th at Talega Golf Club in San Clemente, CA at 6:30pm.

Click here to see previous winners.